Accreditation Process

Candidacy Status The education program applies for and receives candidacy status which confirms that:
  • a certificate/diploma is granted by the educational institution
  • the education program is affiliated with an institution authorized under applicable law to provide postsecondary education
  • the education program includes 500 OTA/PTA practicum hours
  • the individual responsible (i.e., program head/coordinator/director) for the OTA & PTA education program is a registered occupational therapist or physiotherapist
  • There is
    • a curriculum framework document and an articulated educational philosophy
    • a designated sustainable budget
    • identifiable program space
Candidacy status is granted by the Joint Accreditation Committee.
Letter of Intent for Accreditation Reviews The education program submits a letter of intent to OTA & PTA EAP to participate in a full accreditation review (offsite and onsite). The Peer Review Team (PRT) is selected and the review is scheduled.
Program Self Study Report The education program prepares the Self Study Report (SSR) which is submitted to the OTA & PTA EAP electronically.
Offsite Accreditation Review The education program SSR is circulated to the four member PRT (an occupational therapist, an occupational therapist OTA/PTA educator, a physiotherapist and a physiotherapist OTA/PTA educator). The PRT members review the evidence for compliance with all standards, with a focus on compliance with Standard 6. Compliance with 80% of the criteria in Standard 6 OTA and Standard 6 PTA based on submitted evidence is necessary in order to warrant proceeding to an onsite visit. An offsite review teleconference is held with the OTA & PTA EAP Program Manager and the PRT to draft the offsite review report. The report is forwarded to the education program to assist in its preparation for the onsite visit, and, if necessary describe additional information/documentation requested by the PRT.
Onsite Accreditation Review The PRT carries out the onsite accreditation review validating evidence of compliance with all standards. OTA Standard 6 and competencies are reviewed by the two occupational therapists of the PRT and PTA Standard 6 and competencies are reviewed by the two physiotherapists of the PRT. The report reflects the position of the PRT members on the level of validating evidence of compliance with profession specific Standard 6 and competencies.

Following the visit, the PRT does not make a recommendation regarding the program's overall accreditation award. Its role is to gather and verify evidence, and to identify compliance with individual criteria within the standards.
PRT submits Report to OTA & PTA EAP Within two weeks of the onsite review, the PRT report is submitted to OTA & PTA EAP for formatting and editing for consistency.
Edited Report sent for Education Program Review The report is edited and sent to the education program. The program responds to the PRT report to correct any misinformation.
Joint Accreditation Committee The Confidential Accreditation Dossier is prepared; the dossier consists of the program's Self Study Report, the PRT report, and the program's response to the PRT report. Two members of the JAC are selected as the Primary Reviewers to prepare a summary of these documents for presentation at the next JAC meeting.
Accreditation Recommendation The JAC makes an accreditation award recommendation following review of all documents in the Accreditation Dossier, including the Primary Reviewers' report.
Accreditation
  • Fully Compliant
  • Partially Compliant
  • Probationary
Non-Accreditation
Deferral



Accreditation Decision The accreditation award recommendation is sent to the Boards of PEAC and CAOT for final approval.

The education program is notified in writing of the accreditation award decision and the required follow up in an official Accreditation Review and Status Report (AR & SR).



OTA/PTA Disclaimer

Le processus d'agrément

Statut de candidat Le programme d'enseignement présente une demande et obtient le statut de candidat, ce qui confirme ce qui suit:
  • un certificat/diplôme est décerné par l'établissement d'enseignement
  • le programme d'enseignement est affilié à un établissement autorisé à offrir l'enseignement postsecondaire en vertu de la loi applicable
  • le programme d'enseignement comprend 500 heures de stage pour les AE/AP
  • la personne responsable (c.-à-d. le coordonnateur/directeur) du programme d'enseignement à l'AE et à l'AP est un ergothérapeute ou un physiothérapeute dûment inscrit
  • ll y a
    • un document qui décrit le cadre conceptuel du programme et une philosophie d'enseignement énoncée
    • un budget renouvelable désigné
    • des locaux propres au programme
Le comité mixte de l'agrément accorde le statut de candidat.
Lettre d'intention pour l'évaluation aux fins de l'agrément Le programme d'enseignement présente une lettre d'intention au PAE AE & AP en vue de participer à l'évaluation complète en vue de l'agrément (hors site et sur place). L'équipe d'évaluation par les pairs (EEP) est choisie et l'évaluation est planifiée.
Rapport d'autoévaluation du programme Le programme d'enseignement prépare le rapport d'autoévaluation (RAE) qui est présenté au PAE AE & AP.
Évaluation d'agrément hors site Le rapport d'autoévaluation du programme d'enseignement est remis aux quatre membres de l'EEP (un ergothérapeute, un ergothérapeute qui enseigne aux AE/AP, un physiothérapeute et un physiothérapeute qui enseigne aux AE/AP). Les membres de l'EEP analysent les preuves de conformité à toutes les normes, en insistant sur la conformité à la norme 6. La conformité à 80% des critères de la norme 6 AE et la norme 6 AP selon les preuves fournies est exigée pour permettre de procéder à la visite sur place. L'évaluation hors site a lieu par téléconférence avec le directeur du programme du PAE AE & AP et l'EEP pour ébaucher le rapport de l'évaluation hors site. Le rapport est envoyé au programme d'enseignement afin d'aider à préparer la visite sur place et, si nécessaire, demander l'information ou de la documentation additionnelle exigée par l'EEP.
Évaluation d'agrément sur place L'EEP procède à l'évaluation d'agrément sur place en validant les preuves de conformité à toutes les normes. La norme 6 AE et les compétences sont révisées par les deux ergothérapeutes et la norme 6 AP et les compétences sont révisées par les deux physiothérapeutes de l'EEP. Le rapport traduit la position des membres de l'EEP quant à la validité des preuves de conformité à la norme 6 et aux compétences propres à chaque profession.

À la suite de la visite, l'EEP ne fait pas de recommandation au programme d'enseignement en ce qui concerne le statut d'agrément général. Son rôle consiste à rassembler et à vérifier les preuves et à déterminer si le programme est conforme aux critères individuels compris dans les normes.
L'EEP remet son rapport au PAE AE & AP Deux semaines après la visite sur place, le rapport de l'EEP est remis au PAE AE & AP pour qu'il le mette en forme et le rédige de façon uniforme.
Le rapport rédigé est envoyé au programme d'enseignement aux fins de révision Le rapport est rédigé et envoyé au programme d'enseignement. Le programme répond au rapport de l'EEP afin de corriger tout renseignement erroné.
Comité mixte de l'agrément Le dossier confidentiel d'agrément est préparé; le dossier comprend le rapport d'autoévaluation du programme, le rapport de l'EEP et la réponse du programme au rapport de l'EEP. Deux membres du CMA sont choisis comme évaluateurs principaux et rédigent un résumé de ces documents pour les présenter à la prochaine réunion du CMA.
Recommandation d'agrément Le CMA fait une recommandation de statut d'agrément après avoir étudié tous les documents du dossier d'agrément, y compris le rapport des évaluateurs principaux.
Agrément
  • En conformité totale
  • En conformité partielle
  • Agrément probatoire
Non-agrément
Report



Décision du statut d'agrément La recommandation du statut d'agrément est envoyée aux conseils d'administration de l'ACE et de l'AEPC aux fins d'approbation finale.

Le programme d'enseignement est informé par écrit de la décision du statut d'agrément et du suivi exigé, dans un rapport d'analyse et de statut d'agrément (RA & SA) officiel.



OTA/PTA Disclaimer